THE OLD TOWN OF PERUŠIĆ – a medieval archeological site
Perušić is mentioned for the first time with its present name in 1487.
The name comes from the last name of the noble family Perušić, who probably moved to these parts after the fall of Bosnia, and it is assumed that the princes of Perušić originate from Dalmatia, where even today there is the town with the same name called Perušić Benkovački. More...
CAVING PARK GRABOVAČA
Grabovača holds priceless resources of underground Karst forms, ¼ of the total number of preserved caving structures in Croatia.
It is a complex of diversified and rich calcite forms of valuable caving features on a very limited area of only 1,5 square kilometres. It consists of six caves and one pothole, three of which are on the list of protected national geomorphological natural monuments: Samograd, Medina špilja ( bear's cave), Amidžina špilja, Velika Kozarica, Tabakuša and Slipica-Jama/Japaga.
The caving park „Grabovača“ is only 2,5 kilometres from the centre of Perušić and as a complex of clean nature offers a variety of experience and value in ecological, scientific, aesthetic and educational sense.Picture gallery...
www.pp-grabovaca-hrTHE LIKA RIVER / swimming, boat /canoe rides, fishing
The Lika River is the longest sinking river in Lika, 78 kilometres long, which makes it the second largest sinking river in Europe. Having the approximate area of 1570 square kilometres, it springs at the foot of Velebit in the southern part of Ličko polje at altitude of about 600 metres.
This river winds toward its abyss Begovac, known in literature as Mark's abyss, 1725 metres in depth. The Lika River is abundant in fish stock, and so is the storage lake Kruščica. Together with capital catfish and carps, thera are also pikes, chubs, rudds, white amurs, sun-fish, chitons...Picture gallery...IN HOC SIGNO VINCES – IN THIS SIGN YOU SHALL WIN
CHURCH OF PROMINENCE of st.CROSS
On the adjoining hill next to the Tower, standing like the acropolis, is the parish church Prominence of st. Cross, built in the place of an older medieval church and it is one of the most beautiful and most valuable sacral structures in Lika. It is a renovated medieval gothic church mixed with late-baroque and rococo styles.
The interior of the church is very impressive, there are nine altars and a total of 28 elements of the interior which are on the national list of movable cultural monuments.
The church is 42 metres long and the gold-plated cross on the church tower was transferred from the old Zagreb cathedral which burned down in the fire of 1863. What is special about this church is the fact that the Turks turned it into a mosque during their rule.More
There is a folklore collection right in the centre of Perušić. Since its beginnings HKUD (Croatian cultural club) Perušić has been the main and the basic promotor of culture and traditional customs, as well as the collector of national treasures. This so far collected national treasure, and this is not the end of it, is displayed in the Croatian peasant home in Perušić, where you can see the first house and a room.
It was the book „ The traditional life and culture of the village Ivčević Kosa in Lika“ by the late author prof.Marija Hećimović Seselja that lay the foundations and created a scientific basis with its ethnological and expert work, thus inspiring the members of HKUD Perušić to collect the original treasures of the Lika region and in this way preserve the cultural and traditional heritage.
To visit this folklore collection contact the people who are also responsible for its existance, members of the HKUD Perušić, Anka Hodak and Blaž Žarak.
Contact numbers : 098/909-5532 or 091/445-3383Picture gallery...KALUĐEROVAC – the authentic rural village
Kaluđerovac is a village situated bellow the mountain Metlača near the Lika River, and it is known for the potter's trade. During the 19th century, the peasants from Kaluđerovac made pottery which they carried around Lika and Krbava and in that way provided for their families since there was not enough farm land. Nowadays, nobody in Kaluđerovac makes pottery, but it is worthwhile to see this village because of its indigenous rural building structure that you can find in a historical village bellow the mountain Metlača in the old part of Kaluđerovac.
The friendliness of the 25 people who live in Kaluđerovac at the moment, while in 1843 there were more than 330 inhabitants, will surely get you to visit occasionaly this picturesque village that gives off a smell of history.Picture gallery...KRUŠČICA
The Kruščica lake developed with the construction of the dam on the Lika River in 1971 for the needs of the hydro-power plant Senj. It is situated on the lower part of Lika River at the village Mlakva in Kosinj. The name Kruščica comes from the village that was flooded and the people were moved out to nearby places. During the summer months, when the water level is low, you can see tha foundations and the ruins of the church, houses, farms and roads of the flooded village.
Kruščica can be visited from the direction of Kosinj, through the village Mlakva, on the footpath / hiking trail from the direction of the village Kaluđerovac, or go boating down the magnificent Lika canyon from the direction of Kaluđerovac.
Kruščica is an oasis of peace and quiet, a place of authentic beauty of nature and relief, and as such offers an unforgetable experience for every nature lover, chance visitor or fisherman who comes here in search of the „ fish of a lifetime“, and those lucky ones catch catfish weighing over 90 kilos.
During your stay on the Kruščica lake and the Lika canyon you can frequently experience a close encounter with an otter, a doe, a hind, a deer, a bear or a wolf.
THE KOSINJ VALLEY – Lascho de Kosin
The Kosinj subregion is in many ways an interesting, even unique area, that captures every chance traveler with its true beauty. The historical circumstances wanted it to remain „ungrazed“ by industrialization and big roads. The valley is totally free from pollution , it is clean, glittering in its natural glow ; this is nowadays without any doubt an unrevokable comparative privilege that not many places on the mainland can take pride in.
Lasco de Kosin, where the princes of Kosinj had their seat, is mentioned in the year of our Lord 1071, in the charter of the Croatian king Petar Krešimir IV.
This truly preserved and interesting natural environment is ihabited by a great number of plant and animal species; just to mention the indigenous grape-vines, flax, cornelian cherry, minnow, otter, olm and many others. It should also be mentioned that the Tsar fir in the mountainous region Bovan is the biggest tree in Velebit and the biggest tree of the old continent, and that in the meanders of the Lika river which winds through the fields to its chasm Begovac probably the greatest carps in Europe were caught.
The Kosinj valley is full of miraculously beautiful caves, pot-holes and karst valley, numerous water- wells, pools, springs, and as one of the symbols of Kosinj imposed with its dominant stature the mountain-top Kalić ( 969 metres above sea-level), offering magnificent view of Zavižan, Krasno, Ljubovo, Perušić and a large part of the Kosinj Valley.
THE KOSINJ BRIDGE
The monumental Kosinj bridge , made of stone, is a seventy metres long bridge over the Lika River, connecting the Upper and Lower Kosinj. It was designed in the 19th century by the architect Milivoj Frković and it was built on the pattern of the old Croatian bridge construction, the technique of „ stone wedging“. The bridge is also unique for its openings in the arches whose function is the disburdening of the water as it hits the bridge.Picture gallery...THE INSCRIBED STONE – KOSINJ
The inscribed stone is a legal document from the 1st century which regulates the use of water between the two Japod tribes, and which is located in the Lomska duliba at Northern Velebit by the Begovača spring. An inscription was engraved in the stone on the occasion of concluding a peace treaty between the Japod tribes Parentin and Ortoplina. In the treaty the Ortoplina tribe were granted free access to the Begovača spring, 500 steps long and one step wide.
This interesting inscription in a solid rock, in the absolute mountain desolation, can only mean that in the Roman times the herds of two Japod tribes were grazing in this part of Velebit, and a dispute arose between the tribes over the right to water the cattle on the Begovača spring. The Roman authorities obviously acted as mediators in this dispute and , after having made a satisfactory agreement for both parties, the inscription was engraved on the mentioned rock as a warning to anybody who would want to deny that agreement.
The Roman stone inscription confirms the fact that the officials of the Roman districts knew Latin as well as the existing regulations and the laws of the Roman authorities.
THE KOSINJ PRINTING HOUSE
It is assumed that it is the oldest printing house in the Slavic south.
The second Croatian Glagolitic incunabulum was printed in Kosinj in 1491. The first Croatian printing house, the operation site of which we are certain of, was located in this town in Lika. We have come to this conclusion due to the fact that Lika in those days was the centre of Glagolitism and that it was a wealthier place than it has been since the tragedy at Krbavsko polje. An impoverished place, like the one that Lika became after 1493, could not print books at the time when it was quite an expensive task. Besides, the impoverished place, without a strong cultural circle that recognized the advantages of printing and without an economic foothold, would not engage in such operations.
The incunabulum printed in Kosinj is a Breviary according to the law of the Roman court. Many parts of this incunabulum are missing, as well as the colophon, and that is why the year of printing was determined judging by fact that the table of the shifting holidays in the Breviary starts in 1492, therefore it is assumed that it came out a year before. It was also printed in two colours, red and black, and the pattern is unknown. The only preserved copy of this incunabulum is kept in Venice, and a smaller fragment ( 6 parchments) was discovered in the Vatikan library.
Kosinj, as the symbol of Croatian culture, also holds its place in the Gutenberg museum in Mainz, where on the map of the first printing houses proudly stands its name. This small village in Lika, situated in the District of Perušić, was drawn in numerous geographical maps in the 15th and 16th century. In the old maps of the Adriatic, of different European authors, especially Italian, Kosinj is mentioned 11 times. That is why we do not exaggerate by saying that Croatia became an important part of Europe and the civilized world thanks to Kosinj.
WHAT ARE INCUNABULUMS?!
All the books printed since the invention of the printing press, that is, from 1455 up to 1500, are gathered under the name of incunabulum. The word incunabulum comes from the Latin word incunabula, which means a cradle, a cot, therefore a beginning of something, and in printing terms it was first used by Bernard von Mallinckrodt in 1639.
Today we know of around 35-40 thousand copies of incunabulums printed in about 1100- 1200 printing houses.