Municipality Perušić is located in Lika, surrounded by beautiful mountains and forest, accessable to everyone interested in discovering untouched nature of this place.
It is located in south east area of Lika, accessable by traffic connections – highway A1, exit Perušić, state road D50 inbetween Otočac and Gospić and railway Zagreb – Split.
Through history, Perušić was often conquered by wars that eventually left behind cultural and historical heritage visible today. When leaving the highway, you can see the Turkish Tower and the Church of the Exaltation of St. Cross, the most famous historical objects of Perušić.
Perušić was mentioned in 10th century for the first time, under the name „Buška Vrhovina“, and its present name comes from the brothers Perušić, Gašpar and Dominik who came to Perušić in 1487.
OLD TOWN PERUŠIĆ AND THE CHURCH
The most famous objects thanks to which Perušić is recognizable, are Old town Perušić, also known as the Turkish tower and Church of the Exaltation of St. Cross.
The tower was a fort in the shape of a square with guard towers on three corners. In the middle there was a tall high tower on three floors, and it was covered by double walls. Today, one floor of the central tower has been preserved, and there are visible places that served as watchtower and places for cannons during the Osman conquest.
The Church of the Exaltation of the holy Cross is located on the adjacent hill with the Turkish tower. It`s the medieval Gothic church probably originated in the 13th century. It was restored in late-baroque and rococo style, but, during the Ottoman Empire, since 1527. it served as a mosque.The one-nave church of 42 meters long “hides” 28 interior elements found on the list of cultural monuments.
It has nine rich altars while at the top of the bell there is a gilded cross which was transfered to Perušić chruch after the fire on the Zagreb Cathedral in 1863.
Above the entrance door of the church there is a Latin inscription „In hoc signo vinces“ –
„With this sign you will win“ which indicated the victory of the cross over the crescent moon or Christianity over Islam.
Lasco de Kosin, where the dukes of Kosinj were present, is mentioned in 1071. on the list of Croatian King Petar Krešimir IV. Kosinj Valley is a unique space which remained untouched by industralization and major roads, therefore today it boasts with many natural beauties, mostly with a large number of plant and animal species, caves, pits, sinkholes, wells and water sources above which the mountain peak „Kalić“ stands out at 969 m with the view that goes far.
KOSINJ PRINTING OFFICE
In Kosinj, it is assumed that the first and the oldest Croatian book „Misal under the law of the Roman court“ – was printed in 1483.
The glagolitic Breviary was the oldest book printed on croatian ground in 1491.. The only but incomplete specimen is now kept in the museum in Venice and a smaller fragment in the Vatican library. After the invention of a printing press in Germany, printing office was found by the Frankopans in Kosinj. Kosinj was an important ecclesial and cultural center.
Monumental Kosinj bridge is a 70 meters long stone bridge across the river Lika that connects Gornji and Donji Kosinj. It was designed by Milivoj Frković at the beginning of the 20th century and it was built using the old Croatian bridge building technique called „uklinjenje kamena“. The bridge is also unique with the openings in arches that have the function of relieving water wave impacting the bridge.
One of nature`s phenomenons is located above „Kosinjski Bakovac“ in Begovača forest, where the biggest fir is located – Tzar Fir – 42,5 m tall with the extent of 5,42 m. Its age is unknown, but experts assume that it has been „living“ for several centuries.
In the neighborhood with tzar fir there is the inscribed stone dating back to the 1st century when this area was inhabited by the iapodic tribes, until the Romans established power and rules. Two iapodic tribes „Ortoplini“ and „Parentini“ – clashed around the water source „Begovača“ where they fed their cattle. The Romans decided to settle the dispute with the law written on the stone whose inscription is still visible today. Engraved on the stone – EX CONVENTIONE FINIS INTER ORTOPLINOS ET PARENTINOM ADITVS AD AQVAM VIVAM ORTOPLINIS PASVS D LATVS I – , or in translation – „Upon agreement, the border between Ortoplins and Parentins, access to live water Ortolins 500 steps, 1 step width”.
Kaluđerovac is a village located under the hill Metlača, right next to the river Lika flow, known for its pottery. During the 19th century peasants from Kaluđerovac made clay pots that were carried on horses across Lika and Krbava to Dalmatia and like that they would feed their families because they had too little arable land.
Today in Kaluđerovac no one is involved in pottery. But, this is a historical settlement worth visiting because of domestic rural building structure that is present in historic settlement at the foot of hill Metlača in the old part of Kaluđerovac.